Making more into less or vice versa

Had a nice conversation the other day with Mary, a  friend/sometime student.  She had discovered that if a painting didn’t work, there may be a part of it that did and it was OK to tear off the “icky” parts, saving only the jewel. Put me in mind of a long time ago conversation fellow artist Gary.

G and Is had our studios in the same dilapidated warehouse in the downtown St. Louis.  I was making extremely large prints.  So, one day, G dropped into say hello and check out the newest work.

 

The original print before deconstructing
La Grotta Antica II
14 x 11
Matted and framed
$50

 

La Grotta Antica I
14x 11
Matted and Framed
$50

“Good stuff,” says he. “Why don’t you tear them up into smaller prints?”

Insulted, I aked, “Don’t you like these pieces?”

“Like them a lot!  But if you tear them up, you will have more of them.”

It took me many years to heed that advice and that is just what I did today when I got into the studio.  Here are before/after pix.  What do you think?

 

 

 

The original print before deconstructing
Con Tanto d’Occhi II
14″ x 11″
Matted and Framed
$50
Con Tanto d’Occhi IV
14″ x 11″
Matted and Framed
$50
One thought on “Making more into less or vice versa

  1. I have some cards that you also did this way – I’ve used your idea with some of my own not-perfect pieces too. Got that recent print framed & its very happy in the reading nook. Also decided to join the MAH board partially as a result of our talk. You are an inspiration to me!

Leave a Reply

